The best posts involve food. Even if the food is not the best. ;)

Another post. Shocker. O.O I’ll be MIA for the rest of the week! Oh, a warning: I had a biit of a nightmare. It involved a gun, so don’t read if you don’t want to. Nothing graphic, though.

Sunday, August 19, 2012

M and I woke up early to make pancakes. It’s a shake mixture. Add water, shake the container, and pour the batter in the pan. I’ve never seen this in Canada before! Maybe Aunt Jemima should consider producing something like this, haha. It was good, too! Light and fluffy pancakes, yum.

Pancake Shake, ooh la la!

The result of hard labour ;)

I took some time to look at the links my friend included in the Tasmania itinerary. She’s included a tour of Marakoopa Cave at Mole Creek Karst National Park, which should be similar to the tour of Lucas Cave at the Jenolan Caves. I don’t really want to go. I’m not trying to undermine the experience to be had at Marakoopa. Both caves are brilliant examples of the beauty formed by natural forces, but the experience will be similar, I think, and I’d rather spend that money on something new that I haven’t seen or done. Or eaten. It’s $19 for a 45-min tour, I think. It’s not bad… Marakoopa has two tours. We’ll be doing the one that includes the Great Cathedral, the Gardens, and the Glow-worms. This might be the cheapest way for me to obtain entry into the park, anyway, since we’ll need to for the caving activity later on in the day. Daily passes per vehicle are $24, but I think the others are going on the tour. I didn’t find any price for daily passes per person, only a $30 pass that’s valid for 8 weeks. And I won’t be in Tasmania for 8 weeks, lol.

I slept fitfully for a couple hours in the afternoon. I can’t not fall asleep when reading academic works. My nightmares are so strange. I had a dream that I received a bullet to the heart, but I stayed alive. I was guarding something, gun in hand, and two men approached me. One had his gun aimed at my heart while I raised mine slightly to point at his lower regions (you know where! Is there any polite way to say that?). I wasn’t being a very good guard, I guess, since my gun wasn’t at the ready in the first place. Smirking, he asked me if I thought I could shoot him before he killed me. Then he promptly shot me. And I didn’t die right away. I pulled my trigger, but the gun didn’t work. (Of course…) Don’t remember what happened after that, but it was awhile before I went to the hospital. I can see why my heart played a role in the dream, though. I’ve been hunched over when I work and when I sleep, so there’s a tightening that pains me occasionally.

Cooking supper took three hours. -_- T said that it smelled good, though, when she came downstairs. Here’s the recipe link. The name of the site is quite fitting. Thanks for that, friend o’ mine. I didn’t have all the ingredients, so I left those out and substituted others in. I added spinach (I think it’s spinach… I didn’t recognize it in raw form, but I’m pretty sure it is, now that I’ve seen it in cooked form. Man, I am so inexperienced with food!). I also dumped in some honey since I don’t have sugar (the honey doesn’t belong to anyone in particular in the apartment, so we can all use it). It tastes…okay? I might’ve added too much honey. And too much soy sauce. Lol, too much of everything. It looks nothing like the picture in the link, but who was really expecting it to? Not me!

It looks nothing like the recipe photo! Eh, as long as it tastes good. Braised chicken with carrots, mushrooms, spinach, garlic, soy sauce, oyster sauce, honey…

4 thoughts on “The best posts involve food. Even if the food is not the best. ;)

  1. Aiyah… I don’t like that kind of nightmares!!! You alright?
    Ahahaha… your finishing product doesn’t look like the picture but I think you did an excellent job! Good cooking! <3

    • Yup, I’m fine. I’m used to having nightmares now, but that’s probably not a good thing, lol.

      Thank you! It tastes quite good and that’s all that matters. :D

  2. Lol I’m guessing you didn’t use DARK soy sauce? That explains why the colour and taste is different…

    • Your name. *facepalm* Such a dork, lol.

      I didn’t HAVE dark soy sauce! :( Normal soy sauce tasted fine, so it was all good. I just ate some cheese ramen. I think my stomach is rebelling. Lactose-intolerancy issues… But it was yummy. And unhealthy…

Leave a Reply

